Guest on earth

Guest.

We are all guests on this earth. No one knew when we were coming here and definitely no one knows when we are leaving.

This morning, my colleague told me that her husband passed away a day ago. He was only 63 years old. She is barely 50.

It wasn’t a sudden death as such. He has been in “semi” coma for about 6 months now. He never really woke up from his operation.

 

I’m not sure what it was but years ago when I had an atroscopy on my knee, it was the first time in my life where I had to sign a waiver form to receive a general anesthesia (GA) before the atroscopy. The anesthesiologist wanted to waive off her liability should something happen to me like not waking up?!

Lethal. I remember having that fear.

A few years later, true enough, my late brother never woke up from a series of operations. I suspect it was the GA that killed him ultimately.

Same with my colleague’s husband. He was healthy but went through a series of back/spinal problem, wrist, hip i.e. he went from one operation to another. And he never woken up again.

While medicine prolong our lives, does it shorten our lives too by a “prick” of an injection?

At the end of the day, we are only guests on this earth. We should live well and live without regrets.

YELLOW!

Guest

2 thoughts on “Guest on earth

  1. Nothing like having to sign that paper to make you value life. I refused surgery until my first grandchild was born. My doctor accused me of being pessimistic. He was the one insisting on my signature on the release from liability.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

