Drive a Ferrari

2 days ago, I met a guy who seems interesting until he said, he can’t stand a Ferrari. He hates the sound a Ferrari makes. “Annoying” was how he described it and I was like, “Dude, you are off my (dating) list now”. I’ve never thought about the sound of cars until my ex – a fanatic car enthuse – pointed out that “sound” = power, roaring engine power. That’s what (race) cars are made for. Power.

Another Ferrari “hater” is Robin Sharma. He wrote the book “The Monk who sold his Ferrari”. Well, no, the book isn’t about a dysfunctional Ferrari but about “fulfilling your dreams and reaching your destiny”. You know, a car (coach) takes you from point A to point B. Coaching also brings you from one point to the other.

The point I’m driving at are:

  • Isn’t it funny how we interpret things in our life?
  • And things or people along the way (help) shape our thinking about things?

I subscribed to Robin’s emails and in the last email, he wrote

I was up at 4:30 am today. Just this rush of energy pulsing through me… Birds sing. Flowers bloom in our back garden. Lush trees rise up high, in natural tribute to the awakening skies above.

No, I’m not a morning person but “Birds sing, flowers bloom” caught my attention. I mentally planted a beautiful picture in my head upon reading those words. I should have read his email 2 days ago because it was the Kocherball at 6 a.m. again which I told myself every year to go for the sake of photography but I missed it again.

Chasing Daylight.

Again, no, it’s not me but Robin recommended this book in the same email, a book by a former CEO of KPMG who was told that he has 90 days to live.

Last Friday – 15th July – was one of the worst days in history in my opinion. My day started with the news in the morning about a 31 year old Tunesian who drove a truck into the hundreds gathered to watch the French Bastille (Independence) Day fireworks on Thursday night, the night before, in Nice. I am a sucker of fireworks. Why would anyone be so insane to rob people of the joy and entertainment of a celebration and watching fireworks?!

And just before bed the same day, all news channels were showing a military coup in Istanbul against the democratically-elected president Erdoğan. The reporters appeared confused, not sure what is going on and why it is happening. That was unsettling for me. My only thought was “Is this the end of times? Is war coming?”

I should, however, have asked myself

What would I do if I know that my days are numbered?

Back to the book Chasing Daylight.

The author made his last 3 months his best 3 months of his life. Created his Perfect Moments. Robin suggested that Perfect Moments can be having “long hours of family dinners over a sunset to a trip to Florence to witness Michelangelo’s David before sharing the city’s best pizza in an off-the-path trattoria… forest walks or movie nights, epic conversations under star-filled skies or adventures to places you’ve always dreamed to be.”

Clock
What would yours be?

Happiness doesn’t just show up. Happiness needs to be manufactured.

Robin Sharma

YELLOW! 
Drive

Leave a comment